Please complete the enrollment form below. Please contact us if you have any questions. You will be contacted afterward.
- Classes are available for everyone, in person and online.
- Home-school students: Please place your order with your school to use school funds to pay for classes or services. Please complete the form below to enroll.
- Other students: Please complete the form below to enroll.
Tuition and Fees: 2021-2022
One time registration fee, required for each student.
Early Graduation Students must contact us before enrollment. Please visit our Classes page for a full list of classes and services offered.
Areas we service:
Counties in California:
San Luis Obispo
We service all areas outside of California online only.
Your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us. When a new student is accepted into Coachella Valley Arts Institute, we like to be sure that we can share openly any concerns or questions that may arise.
Registration Fee: There is a $15 Non-Refundable registration fee per child at the time of enrollment. If you terminate childcare services and are gone more than 90 days and wish to return to Coachella Valley Arts Institute, you must pay a $10 re-application fee.
Tuition / Payment Procedures / Late Fees
Your specific rates will be outlined in your desired class schedule. Tuition is payable in advance. Payment may be made online, check, money order, or cash. A $5.00 per 15 minutes late pickup fee will be assessed for all children picked up after the assigned pick-up time. $10 an hour will be assessed for full-time students who exceed 9 hours in a day. This must be paid in cash at the time of pickup, or before the child’s next regularly scheduled day. This will be strictly enforced, and habitual tardiness may result in termination of services.
Hours of Operation / Arrival and Departures
Children are to arrive clean and fed (unless arriving just before a mealtime). Our normal procedure is to release the child only to his/her parents, or someone else the parents designate in writing. It is required by state law that all parents sign their children in and out each day. For your convenience, a sign-in/out sheet, pen, and a clock are located by the door, this gives us a written record of the child’s attendance, hours, and the person who brought or picked up the child each day.
Holidays / Vacations / Absences
Childcare fees are based on enrollment (a reserved space), not in attendance. To maintain a reserved space, fees must be paid during the absence of a child due to illness, holidays, vacation, or for any other reason.
The following is a list of the holidays that Mother Hen Daycare will be closed:
|New Year’s Day||Fri, Jan 1, 2021|
|Martin Luther King Jr. Day||Mon, Jan 18, 2021|
|Washington’s Birthday||Mon, Feb 15, 2021|
|Cesar Chavez Day||Wed, Mar 31, 2021|
|Memorial Day||Mon, May 31, 2021|
|Independence Day||Mon, Jul 5, 2021|
|Labor Day||Mon, Sep 6, 2021|
|California Admission Day||Thu, Sep 9, 2021|
|Native American Day||Fri, Sep 24, 2021|
|Veterans Day||Thu, Nov 11, 2021|
|Thanksgiving||Thu, Nov 25, 2021|
|Christmas Day||Fri, Dec 24, 2021|
|New Year’s Day||Fri, Dec 31, 2021|
If one of these holidays falls on a weekend, then we will be closed either Friday or Monday.
Clothing / Attire / Personal Belongings
Children should arrive dressed for play. We like to have fun! Having fun involves indoor and outdoor play and may include lots of messy activities, so make sure that your child is dressed appropriately. Please make sure to include hats, mittens, boots, and coats for cold weather. We prefer that children do not bring toys from home unless it is something that can be shared with the entire group (i.e. books, videos, etc.). We are not responsible for any loss or breakage of personal items. All personal items must be clearly marked with the child’s name.
A class schedule helps the day to flow more smoothly and allows the children to anticipate upcoming events. We will adhere to our written schedule to the best of our ability. There will be times when we have to make adjustments to the schedule. We appreciate families considering our schedule when picking up or dropping off children.
There are certain rules that all children will be taught and expected to follow. This is for the safety and well being of everyone. There will be no running permitted inside. Hitting, pushing, biting, grabbing, kicking, spitting, or pinching other children/infants/adults will NOT be allowed. No standing or climbing on chairs or tables. There will be no use of obscene, derogatory or disrespectful language. Children may not walk around the facility with food, cups or bottles. Respectful treatment of other people and all property, toys, and furniture is expected. Willful destruction of property will be charged to the parent at the cost to replace the item. Please support us in the enforcement of these rules, in order to create a better environment for all (see Departure and Arrival). No smoking is permitted on the premises as per state law; this included parents and staff.
We have mandated reporters as staff and are obligated to report to Child Protective Services if we feel a child is being abused or neglected. Always be sure to let your director know when you drop your child off if he/she has any unexplained cuts or bruises. All children that come to class with injuries will have them logged into the child’s file.
We maintain a positive discipline policy, which focuses on prevention, redirection, love, consistency, and firmness. We stress two main patterns of behavior: respect for other people and respect for property. The children are given the rules of the center so they are all familiar with the guidelines. Please keep in mind that there WILL be disagreements between children. Young children have a hard time expressing their feelings. Sometimes they hit, throw toys, bite, etc. We will try to prevent problems, redirect when appropriate, discuss inappropriate behavior, encourage making amends when the offense involves another person, and sometimes withdraw privileges based on the principle of “natural consequences”. An example might be where a child is misusing a toy then he/she will not be allowed to play with the toy for a period. The use of timeouts will be rare except when a brief cooling off period is needed. Sometimes when children are fighting or throwing toys, we will put the toy in a short timeout, and then bring it back into circulation a little later. This seems to work better than giving the child a timeout.
Coachella Valley Arts Institute is a “well-child facility”. At no time do we provide sick classes. The following illness policies will be strictly enforced, for the health, well being, and safety of all concerned.
Sick Child Policy: Under no circumstances may a parent bring a sick child to class, if the child shows any signs of illness, or is unable to participate in the normal routine and regular daycare program. Sick children will expose all children and staff members who they meet. These people can, in turn, expose the other children. Sick children want care from their parents in the comfort of their own homes. If other children become ill due to exposure to your sick child, either because he/she was returned to class before full recovery or because he/she was not picked up promptly upon notice of becoming ill, other parents will be unnecessarily inconvenienced. This is disruptive to other children and their families, your cooperation on this issue is extremely important.
Symptoms requiring removal of the child from class:
Fever: Fever is defined as having a temperature of 100°F or higher taken under the arm, 101°F took orally, or 102°F took rectally. For children 4 months or younger, the lower rectal temperature of 101°F is considered a fever threshold; (a child needs to be fever free for a minimum of 24 hours before returning to class, that means the child is fever free without the aid of Tylenol®, or any other fever-reducing substance.) Fever AND sore throat, rash, vomiting, diarrhea, earache, irritability, or confusion. Diarrhea: runny, watery, bloody stools, or 2 or more loose stools within last 4 hours. Vomiting: 2 or more times in a 24-hour period. Note: please do not bring your child if they have vomited in the night. Breathing trouble, sore throat, swollen glands, loss of voice, hacking or continuous coughing. A runny nose (other than clear), draining eyes or ears. Frequent scratching of body or scalp, lice, rash, or any other spots that resemble childhood diseases, including ringworm. A child is irritable, continuously crying, or requires more attention than we can provide without hurting the health, safety or well-being of the other children in our care. Just a note: Many times, our child care may get blamed for the illness of a child, meaning that we have “allowed” sick children to come here. Parents may not stop to think that when sick children are brought to our center, our entire staff is also at risk of exposure.
Medications/ Medical Emergencies
Coachella Valley Arts Institute will not be held liable for any sickness/injury of either parent/guardian or child while on these premises.
We reserve the right to terminate a child for the following reasons (but not limited to): Failure to pay, Routinely late picking up your child, Failure to complete the required forms, Lack of parental cooperation, Failure of child to adjust to the center after a reasonable amount of time, Physical or verbal abuse of any person or property, Our inability to meet the child’s needs, lack of compliance with handbook regulations, and Serious illness of child. We appreciate as much notice as possible when terminating and will give the same courtesy in return. Parents are required to give two weeks written notice when they decide to terminate child care. The two weeks will be paid in full, regardless of whether the child is in attendance. We will give two weeks’ notice of termination for which full tuition is due, whether the child is in attendance. The provider reserves the right to give written a notice of immediate termination where there are extreme circumstances that affect the well-being of the provider or other children in attendance. Anyone who terminates daycare and has a balance that is outstanding will need to have the account settled within 30 days. All accounts not settled within 30 days will be turned over to a collections agency regardless of the amount owed. All accounts turned over to collections will have a $20 per week late fee plus 35% collections fee added to the amount due.